The EV Subsidy in Lakshadweep can reduce the cost of selected electric two-wheelers, four-wheelers, and e-rickshaws. The official Department of Road Transport webpage lists 15% financial assistance for battery-operated two- and four-wheelers and a 50% e-rickshaw subsidy capped at ₹50,000.
However, the position in 2026 requires careful interpretation. Lakshadweep also published a more detailed Draft Electric Vehicle Policy 2025, but the administration’s website still identifies it as a draft. Its proposed category-wise incentives, charging-station support, and vehicle-transition deadlines should therefore not be treated as operational until confirmed through a final notification or written approval from the transport department.
This distinction matters. A buyer could otherwise book an EV expecting a subsidy of ₹1 lakh, only to discover that the applicable scheme, budget window, or claim procedure has not been formally activated.
Quick Answer: EV Subsidy in Lakshadweep 2026
| Electric vehicle category | Published Lakshadweep support | Central PM E-DRIVE support | Important condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Electric bicycle | The draft policy proposes 25% of the capital cost, capped at ₹8,000. | Not covered | Draft benefit; confirm notification. |
| Electric scooter/motorcycle | The existing department page lists 15% assistance; the draft proposes ₹5,000/kWh, capped at ₹10,000. | ₹2,500/kWh, subject to the applicable vehicle cap and eligibility | Do not assume both local schemes can be combined without confirmation. |
| E-rickshaw | The existing scheme lists a 50% subsidy, capped at ₹50,000; the draft proposes ₹5,000/kWh, capped at ₹25,000. | ₹2,500/kWh, subject to the applicable cap; commercial registration required | Benefit depends on the approved model and available allocation. |
| L5 electric passenger three-wheeler | The draft proposes ₹5,000/kWh, capped at ₹25,000. | Category-specific PM E-DRIVE support may apply | Draft local benefit |
| Electric goods carrier | The draft proposes ₹5,000/kWh, capped at ₹25,000. | Eligible commercial e-3Ws or notified e-trucks may qualify. | Vehicle category determines central incentive. |
| Private electric car | The existing department page lists 15% financial assistance; the draft proposes ₹10,000/kWh, capped at ₹1 lakh. | No PM E-DRIVE demand incentive for private electric cars | Confirm whether the older 15% scheme remains open. |
| Electric ambulance | No separate confirmed Lakshadweep purchase amount found | Lower of ₹30,000/kWh or 35% of ex-factory price | Must meet notified ambulance-category rules |
| Electric truck | No confirmed local purchase subsidy found | Lowest of ₹5,000/kWh, 10% of ex-factory price, or the GVW-based ceiling | Applies to eligible N2 and N3 vehicles |
| EV charger | The draft proposes 60% of hardware cost up to ₹10,000 for slow chargers and 50% up to ₹8 lakh for moderate/fast chargers. | Infrastructure support is primarily routed through sanctioned projects | Draft local incentive |

What is the EV subsidy available in Lakshadweep in 2026?
Lakshadweep’s official Road Transport Department page publishes two straightforward benefits:
- 15% financial assistance for battery-operated two-wheelers and four-wheelers.
- 50% subsidy for e-rickshaws, subject to an upper limit of ₹50,000.
The page does not clearly state the current application window, vehicle-price ceiling, annual budget, eligible-model list, or whether applications remain open throughout 2026. Buyers should consequently regard these as published scheme benefits that require transaction-level confirmation.
The Draft Lakshadweep Electric Vehicle Policy 2025 proposes a different, more structured incentive system.
| Category | Proposed draft incentive | Maximum proposed subsidy | Proposed vehicle limit |
|---|---|---|---|
| E-bicycle | 25% of capital cost | ₹8,000 | 500 |
| Electric two-wheeler | ₹5,000 per kWh | ₹10,000 | 400 |
| L5M/e-rickshaw | ₹5,000 per kWh | ₹25,000 | 75 |
| L5N goods carrier | ₹5,000 per kWh | ₹25,000 | 30 |
| M1 electric four-wheeler | ₹10,000 per kWh | ₹100,000 | 60 |
These figures come from the draft, not a confirmed final policy. The proposed numerical limits also mean that a benefit could end once the allocated number of vehicles is exhausted.
What is the current status of the Lakshadweep EV Policy?
The UT Administration released the Draft Lakshadweep Electric Vehicle Policy 2025 for public comments on February 13, 2025. The feedback period ended on March 14, 2025.
The document proposed that the eventual policy remain valid for three years from the date of notification. It also set an ambition of allowing only electric registrations in notified categories from April 1, 2025.
Yet the administration’s policy page was still describing the document as a “draft” when checked in September 2026. This creates an important legal and practical distinction:
- A draft policy expresses proposed rules and intentions.
- A final notification establishes enforceable benefits, conditions, and commencement dates.
- A website profile mentioning an existing scheme does not necessarily disclose its current budget or application status.
- A dealer’s verbal estimate is not the same as a sanction from the competent authority.
Therefore, claims that Lakshadweep already mandates 100% EV registration or compulsory conversion of every ICE three-wheeler should be presented as draft proposals unless a final notification is produced.
Lakshadweep EV Policy timeline
| Date | Development | Status |
|---|---|---|
| February 12, 2025 | Public notice signed by the Road Transport Department | Confirmed |
| February 13, 2025 | Draft EV Policy placed in the public domain | Confirmed |
| March 14, 2025 | Deadline for comments and suggestions | Confirmed |
| April 1, 2025 | Proposed start of 100% EV registrations in notified categories | Draft target |
| October 1, 2025 | Proposed deadline to retrofit existing ICE three-wheelers | Draft target |
| September 2026 | The UT website continues to label the document as a draft. | Confirmed website status |
| Three years from final notification | Proposed policy duration | Has to be calculated from the eventual notification date |
EV Subsidy in Lakshadweep for electric scooters
Electric scooters are likely to be the most practical category for island mobility. Daily distances are generally short, parking space is limited, and a scooter can often be charged from a modest domestic connection.
Three possible layers must be distinguished.
Published local assistance
The Road Transport Department lists a 15% subsidy for battery-operated two-wheelers. It does not publish a clear monetary cap or 2026 claim window on the department profile.
For a scooter priced at ₹1 lakh, a simple 15% calculation would equal ₹15,000. That is only an illustration—the actual eligible cost and sanctioned amount may differ.
Draft-policy proposal
The draft proposes ₹5,000 per kWh, capped at ₹10,000, for an electric two-wheeler with an eligible ex-factory price of up to ₹1.5 lakh.
PM E-DRIVE support
The central PM E-DRIVE portal states that registered private, corporate, and commercial electric two-wheelers with advanced batteries can qualify. For the relevant 2026 period, the incentive rate is ₹2,500 per kWh, subject to the applicable cap, approved-model requirements, and scheme conditions.
The official portal also records an August 10, 2026, amendment extending the terminal date for electric two-wheelers to March 31, 2028. Buyers should nevertheless check the incentive rate applicable on the invoice date because scheme rates, allocations, and model approvals can change.
EV Subsidy in Lakshadweep for e-rickshaws
The strongest clearly published local percentage benefit is for e-rickshaws:
- 50% of the relevant eligible cost;
- maximum assistance of ₹50,000.
The draft policy takes a different approach, proposing ₹5,000 per kWh with a ₹25,000 maximum for L5M vehicles and e-rickshaws.
Under PM E-DRIVE, qualifying e-rickshaws and e-carts registered for commercial use may also receive central demand support. The 2026 rate shown through the scheme framework is ₹2,500 per kWh, subject to the vehicle ceiling, certificate validity, model approval, and available allocation.
Buyers must not automatically add the older ₹50,000 local benefit, the draft ₹25,000 incentive, and the PM E-DRIVE amount. The final stacking rules have to be confirmed because the older scheme and proposed replacement framework may not operate simultaneously.
EV Subsidy in Lakshadweep for electric cars
Private electric cars do not receive a PM E-DRIVE demand incentive. This is one of the most common subsidy misunderstandings in India.
Lakshadweep’s official departmental page does, however, mention 15% financial assistance for battery-operated four-wheelers. The draft policy proposes a replacement-style formula of ₹10,000 per kWh, capped at ₹1 lakh, for M1 electric cars priced up to ₹20 lakh ex-factory.
Consider an EV with a 30 kWh battery:
- Draft calculation: 30 × ₹10,000 = ₹3 lakh.
- Proposed maximum: ₹1 lakh.
- Potential draft benefit: ₹1 lakh, subject to eligibility and availability.
This is not a guaranteed quotation. The older 15% support and proposed ₹1 lakh ceiling represent two different policy formulations. Ask the RTO which one applies before making a non-refundable payment.
Are road tax and registration fees waived?
The accumulated information commonly circulated online describes a 100% road-tax waiver and registration-fee exemption. However, these benefits were not clearly specified in the official departmental scheme summary or the fiscal-incentive section of the draft reviewed for this article.
There is also a national distinction worth understanding: battery-operated vehicles are generally exempt from the central certificate-of-registration fee under the Central Motor Vehicles fee framework, but that is not identical to a UT road-tax waiver.
For a reliable on-road quotation, obtain confirmation of:
- Applicable one-time or lifetime motor-vehicle tax;
- Registration-related charges;
- Hypothecation and smart-card charges;
- Insurance;
- Vehicle transportation charges;
- Handling and local delivery costs;
- Subsidy treatment on the invoice.
Until the VAHAN calculation or RTO assessment confirms a zero-tax amount, avoid publishing an exact road-tax saving.
What are the Green Tax Rules in Lakshadweep?
Green tax usually targets older, polluting vehicles rather than new battery-electric vehicles. A zero-tailpipe-emission EV would not normally attract the pollution-based green tax applied to aging petrol or diesel vehicles.
Nevertheless, “green tax exemption” should not be confused with:
- A purchase subsidy;
- A motor-vehicle road-tax waiver;
- A registration-fee concession;
- A scrappage incentive.
Owners replacing an older ICE vehicle should ask whether any locally notified scrappage concession or green-tax treatment is available. No separate, quantified Lakshadweep EV green-tax payout was confirmed in the reviewed sources.
What does PM E-DRIVE provide in 2026?
PM E-DRIVE was launched with an initial ₹10,900 crore outlay, later shown by the official portal with total fund support of ₹11,900 crore following amendments. Its eligible areas include electric two-wheelers, three-wheelers, ambulances, trucks, buses, charging infrastructure, and testing-agency upgrades.
| Category | PM E-DRIVE position relevant to Lakshadweep |
|---|---|
| Private e-2W | Eligible if registered, approved, and fitted with an advanced battery |
| Commercial e-2W | Eligible subject to scheme conditions |
| Private e-3W | Generally not eligible |
| Commercial e-3W | Eligible in notified categories |
| Private electric car | No demand incentive |
| E-ambulance | Lower of ₹30,000/kWh or 35% of ex-factory price |
| E-truck | Lowest of ₹5,000/kWh, 10% of ex-factory price or applicable GVW ceiling |
| E-bus | Procured through the scheme’s institutional deployment framework |
| Charging station | Support routed through approved public-infrastructure projects |
The central incentive is normally reflected as an upfront reduction through the manufacturer or dealer and supported by a PM E-DRIVE e-voucher. It is not an unrestricted cash reimbursement that every buyer can claim after purchasing any EV.
EV Subsidy in Lakshadweep for electric ambulances
The central scheme’s electric-ambulance component covers:
- Type B patient transport vehicles;
- Type C basic life-support ambulances;
- Type D advanced life-support ambulances.
The incentive is the lower of:
- ₹30,000 multiplied by battery capacity in kWh; or
- 35% of the vehicle’s ex-factory price.
For example, a qualifying 60 kWh electric ambulance would produce a capacity-based figure of ₹18 lakh. If 35% of its ex-factory price is ₹14 lakh, the lower ₹14 lakh figure would determine the incentive before any additional scheme limits or procurement conditions.
This programme is mainly relevant to health departments, hospitals, fleet operators, and eligible institutional purchasers. It should not be treated like an ordinary retail-car discount.
Proposed transport and retrofitting support
The draft contains one benefit particularly relevant to island economics: a one-time 100% waiver of transportation cost for EVs moved from the mainland on mechanized barges owned and operated by the Lakshadweep Administration.
Transport cost can materially affect an island buyer’s final price. If implemented, this support may be almost as valuable as a conventional cash incentive on an affordable scooter.
The draft also proposes subsidies for converting certain existing three-wheelers to electric power. The proposed maximum depends on vehicle type and age, with larger support for newer vehicles.
Retrofitting should be attempted only through an authorized kit supplier and after confirming:
- Type approval;
- RTO endorsement;
- Battery and motor warranty;
- Revised insurance;
- Payload and range;
- Local repair support;
- Availability of replacement components.
Charging infrastructure incentives
The draft proposes substantial support for charging equipment.
| Charger type | Proposed incentive | Proposed maximum |
|---|---|---|
| Slow charger | 60% of hardware cost | ₹10,000 per charging point |
| Moderate/fast charger | 50% of hardware cost | ₹8 lakh per charger or charging point |
It also proposes mandatory charging facilities at petroleum outlets and encourages solar-powered charging across inhabited islands.
Once again, these are proposals from the draft. A charging-station operator should not place an order until the nodal department confirms the final guidelines, eligible hardware, electrical approvals, payment process, and commissioning deadline.
Why electric mobility makes sense for Lakshadweep
Lakshadweep has a mobility pattern unlike that of mainland cities. Vehicles typically operate over compact distances, while petrol and diesel must be transported across the sea. This makes energy efficiency and local renewable generation strategically valuable.
Electric mobility can offer:
- Lower energy consumption per kilometre;
- Reduced dependence on transported fossil fuel;
- Quieter streets in densely inhabited areas;
- Zero tailpipe emissions;
- Easier integration with distributed solar power;
- Lower routine maintenance for small vehicles.
But electrification is not automatically carbon-neutral. Its environmental value depends on the electricity mix, battery life, safe waste management, and the durability of vehicles exposed to a humid, salty coastal climate.
Charging costs and ownership economics
The following figures are illustrations, not an official Lakshadweep tariff quotation.
| Vehicle | Assumed battery | Energy rate | Approximate full-charge electricity cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| Electric scooter | 3 kWh | ₹8/kWh | ₹24 |
| E-rickshaw | 8 kWh | ₹8/kWh | ₹64 |
| Compact electric car | 30 kWh | ₹8/kWh | ₹240 |
| Larger electric car | 50 kWh | ₹8/kWh | ₹400 |
Real energy drawn from the socket may be 10–20% above usable battery capacity because of charging losses. Public charging can also cost more than domestic electricity.
Before buying, ask the electricity department or charging operator about:
- Applicable domestic and commercial tariffs;
- Permitted electrical load;
- Earthing and surge protection;
- Dedicated-meter requirements;
- Solar integration;
- Charger maintenance and payment methods.
What should an EV buyer check before purchasing?
1. Get written subsidy confirmation.
Request the applicable order number, claim form, eligible-cost definition, and subsidy ceiling. A screenshot or verbal dealer promise is inadequate.
2. Verify the model
Check the approved-model list on the PM E-DRIVE portal if claiming a central incentive. Similar-looking variants can have different eligibility.
3. Examine island delivery costs.
Clarify freight, barge space, port handling, unloading, transit insurance, and last-mile delivery. Also ask whether the draft transportation waiver has been formally activated.
4. Confirm after-sales support
A low purchase price offers little value if the vehicle must be shipped to the mainland for every diagnostic fault. Ask who can repair the motor controller, charger, brakes, and battery locally.
5. Choose a corrosion-resistant product.
Salt-laden air can accelerate corrosion. Inspect fasteners, connectors, charging ports, and exposed metal, and follow the manufacturer’s cleaning instructions.
6. Check battery warranty conditions.
Read the warranty’s time, kilometre, and minimum state-of-health clauses. Confirm whether transport to an authorized workshop is included.
7. Avoid paying for unnecessary battery capacity.
Short island journeys may not require a large battery. A smaller, appropriately sized vehicle can cost less, charge faster, and place less demand on the local grid.
Common subsidy mistakes to avoid
- Assuming the draft policy is already legally operational;
- Expecting PM E-DRIVE support on a private electric car;
- Adding every advertised incentive together;
- Treating a percentage subsidy as uncapped;
- Booking before checking whether the category quota is exhausted;
- Confusing registration-fee relief with road-tax exemption;
- Assuming Section 80EEB applies to a new 2026 loan;
- Ignoring freight and after-sales costs;
- Purchasing an unapproved model;
- Depending only on a dealer’s verbal assurance.
Is Section 80EEB available for a new EV loan?
No. Section 80EEB allowed eligible individual taxpayers to deduct up to ₹1.5 lakh of interest paid on an EV loan, but only when the loan was sanctioned between April 1, 2019, and March 31, 2023.
A new loan sanctioned in 2026 does not qualify. A person whose loan was sanctioned during the eligible window may continue claiming the permitted interest deduction during the loan period, subject to the Income-tax Act and individual tax circumstances.
Difference between the old scheme and Draft Lakshadweep EV Policy 2025
| Issue | Existing department webpage | Draft EV Policy 2025 |
|---|---|---|
| Two-wheelers | 15% assistance | ₹5,000/kWh, maximum ₹10,000 |
| Four-wheelers | 15% assistance | ₹10,000/kWh, maximum ₹1 lakh |
| E-rickshaws | 50%, capped at ₹50,000 | ₹5,000/kWh, capped at ₹25,000 |
| E-bicycles | Not specified | 25%, capped at ₹8,000 |
| Vehicle quotas | Not stated | Category-wise limits proposed |
| EV transportation | Not specified | 100% one-time barge-cost waiver proposed |
| Charging equipment | Not specified | 50–60% hardware support proposed |
| Policy status | Listed as a departmental scheme | Still displayed as a draft |
The new draft is not simply a larger version of the older programme. It changes the calculation method, introduces quotas, and expands support to transport, retrofitting, and chargers.
Challenges that must be solved
Limited charging availability
Home charging may cover many two-wheeler users, but commercial vehicles and emergency fleets need dependable public or captive facilities.
Grid resilience
EV charging should be scheduled and combined with solar generation and storage where practical. Poorly planned charging clusters could stress small island networks.
Service and spare parts
A disabled EV cannot always be transported quickly to a mainland workshop. Local diagnostic capacity is essential.
Coastal conditions
Humidity, flooding, and salt exposure demand careful equipment selection and maintenance.
End-of-life batteries
An island EV programme needs a documented reverse-logistics system for damaged and retired batteries. Disposal in ordinary waste streams is unsafe.
Expert Insight from Electric Vehicle Talks
Lakshadweep is unusually well suited to electric mobility: travel distances are compact, fuel logistics are costly, and clean transport aligns closely with the islands’ environmental identity. Yet subsidy clarity is more important here than headline generosity.
The best 2026 buying strategy is to treat the official 15% and 50% scheme entries as benefits requiring written sanction and the detailed 2025 policy figures as proposals until a final notification is available.
For most households, a reliable electric scooter with genuine local service will probably deliver better value than a high-range product carrying unnecessary battery capacity. For public authorities and businesses, e-rickshaws, small goods carriers, ambulances, and solar-linked charging facilities could create the greatest system-wide impact.
FAME II should no longer be treated as the current purchasing framework. Its successor is PM E-DRIVE, and even that scheme does not subsidise private electric cars. Effective implementation will depend on coordination among the Lakshadweep Road Transport Department, electricity authorities, approved manufacturers, dealers, and service providers.
Readers can follow policy explainers and practical ownership guidance at Electric Vehicle Talks.
People Also Ask
How much EV subsidy is available in Lakshadweep?
The official Road Transport Department webpage lists 15% assistance for battery-operated two-wheelers and four-wheelers. It lists 50% assistance for e-rickshaws, capped at ₹50,000. Availability and application conditions should be confirmed before purchase.
Is the Lakshadweep EV Policy 2025 active?
The UT Administration’s website continues to identify the document as the Draft Lakshadweep Electric Vehicle Policy 2025. Its proposed subsidies and mandates should not be described as fully operational without a final notification.
Do electric cars receive the PM E-DRIVE subsidy in Lakshadweep?
No. Private electric passenger cars do not receive a PM E-DRIVE demand incentive. A car buyer’s benefits must come from applicable Lakshadweep assistance or other confirmed exemptions.
Can an electric scooter receive both central and Lakshadweep subsidies?
It may be possible if the final local rules permit incentive stacking, but buyers must not assume this. The model must satisfy PM E-DRIVE conditions, and the Lakshadweep department must confirm the local claim.
Are road tax and registration free for EVs in Lakshadweep?
A definitive 100% road-tax waiver could not be confirmed from the official scheme summary or draft’s fiscal-incentive section reviewed here. Obtain a VAHAN calculation or written RTO confirmation for the selected vehicle.
Is there a subsidy for transporting an EV to Lakshadweep?
The draft proposes a one-time 100% waiver of EV transportation costs on mechanized barges owned and operated by the UT Administration. Confirm implementation before dispatching a vehicle.
What subsidy is available for an electric ambulance?
PM E-DRIVE provides an incentive equal to the lower of ₹30,000 per kWh or 35% of the ex-factory price for eligible Type B, C, and D electric ambulances.
EV Subsidy in Lakshadweep 2026: FAQs
Does Lakshadweep offer a subsidy for electric bicycles?
The draft policy proposes 25% of the capital cost, capped at ₹8,000, for up to 500 e-bicycles. This remains a draft benefit unless activated through final guidelines.
What is the maximum proposed subsidy for an electric car?
The draft proposes ₹10,000 per kWh, capped at ₹1 lakh, for eligible M1 electric four-wheelers priced up to the stated ex-factory ceiling. The older department page instead lists 15% assistance.
Can I claim Section 80EEB on an EV loan taken in 2026?
No. The deduction is unavailable for a new loan sanctioned in 2026 because the qualifying loan-sanction window ended on March 31, 2023.
How is the PM E-DRIVE subsidy claimed?
For eligible models, the incentive is processed through the manufacturer or dealer as an upfront price reduction. The buyer completes the prescribed e-KYC and e-voucher procedure.
Does an EV need a Pollution Under Control certificate?
A pure battery-electric vehicle has no tailpipe emissions and does not ordinarily require a PUC certificate. This does not remove registration, insurance, or roadworthiness obligations.
Where should buyers verify the latest benefit?
Check the Lakshadweep Department of Road Transport, the local Registration Authority, the VAHAN-generated quotation, and the official PM E-DRIVE approved-model portal.
What documents may be required?
The final checklist can vary, but buyers should keep Aadhaar, address proof, bank details, invoice, insurance, registration documents, vehicle specifications, PM E-DRIVE e-voucher where applicable, and a cancelled cheque or bank-verification documents ready.
Conclusion
The EV Subsidy in Lakshadweep 2026 presents genuine opportunities—but also an unusual policy-status issue. The administration’s department page publishes 15% assistance for battery-operated two- and four-wheelers and a 50% e-rickshaw subsidy capped at ₹50,000. Meanwhile, the newer policy proposes different category-wise caps, transportation assistance, retrofitting support, and charging incentives but remains labelled as a draft.
The safest approach is simple: select an EV based on its range, reliability, corrosion protection, charging practicality, and local service support first. Treat the subsidy as confirmed only when the dealer and Registration Authority provide the applicable order, calculation, and claim procedure in writing.
For more state subsidy updates, EV buying guides, charging resources, and practical ownership analysis, explore the latest expert content from Electric Vehicle Talks.
PDF received. It is the official Draft Lakshadweep Electric Vehicle Policy, 2025, already reviewed for the article, including category-wise purchase incentives, vehicle limits, retrofitting support, transportation-cost waiver, and charging-infrastructure incentives. No further action is needed.

Related Articles:








